The International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Awards are back with the 18th edition, which is scheduled to air live on the 16th of July, on COLORS network. The event will be organised by Wizcraft International Entertainment as always, and will be hosted in New York, at the iconic MetLife Stadium, which hosts the National Football League and other major events. This is the second time the extravagant event is being hosted in the United States. It was previously held in the country in 2014 in Tampa Bay.

This time the awards will be hosted by Saif Ali Khan along with Karan Johar. The filmmaker was recently quoted as saying, “IIFA is the most awaited international award function of the Indian film fraternity. I am excited and look forward to hosting the 18th Edition of the IIFA Weekend. New York will be spellbound with the magic of IIFA!”

While his co-host Saif Ali Khan added, “I am happy to be back to the IIFA stage this year as I join my close friend Karan Johar to host the IIFA Awards in New York. The excitement for IIFA has been steadily growing worldwide. This year it’s going to be super fun and glamorous in every way as Karan and I are going to have lots of surprises in store for our fans internationally!”

It has also been confirmed that actor Varun Dhawan will also make his anchoring debut at the awards night, and co- host a segment of the ceremony. He will also be performing at the event, and was quoted as saying about his act, “I am absolutely excited to be a part of IIFA Awards in New York this year. I’m looking forward to join everyone and see fans at the amazing MetLife stadium. This year is truly going to be a grand celebration and I can’t wait to be there.” He also took to twitter to speak about the event, clearly showing how excited he was for his act. Here is what he tweeted:

Happy to be part of the #IIFA familia. Thrilled for my debut at #IIFA2017 in New York. Get ready to party Bollywood style.

Along with Varun Dhawan, there will be performances by Alia Bhatt, Shahid Kapoor, Salman Khan, Sushant Singh Rajput, Kriti Sanon and Katrina Kaif. It is rumoured that Priyanka Chopra was also asked to perform at the awards, but apparently she asked a fee of Rupees 2 crore for the performance.

An event by the name IIFA Rocks will be hosted a night before the main awards gala, to celebrate 25 years of AR Rahman in Bollywood. This event will be hosted by Riteish Deshmukh and Manish Paul, and there will be performances by a number of musicians, including Diljit Dosanjh, Benny Dayal, Javed Ali, Neeti Mohan, Jonita Gandhi, Haricharan Seshadri and Rahman himself.

The nominations are as follows:
Best Picture : 
Ae Dil Hai Mushkil, M.S.Dhoni: An Untold Story, Neerja, Pink, Sultan, Udta Punjab

Best Story :
Kapoor & Sons , Neerja, Pink

Best Direction :
Karan Johar – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil, Neeraj Pandey – M.S.Dhoni: An Untold Story, Ram Madhvani – Neerja, Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury – Pink, Ali Abbas Zafar – Sultan
Abhishek Chaubey – Udta Punjab

Best Actor in A Leading Role (Male) :
Shahid Kapoor – Udta Punjab, Ranbir Kapoor – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil, Shah Rukh Khan – Fan
Sushant Singh Rajput – M.S.Dhoni: An Untold Story, Amitabh Bachchan – Pink
Salman Khan – Sultan

Best Actor in A Leading Role (Female) :
Anushka Sharma – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil, Alia Bhatt – Dear Zindagi, Sonam Kapoor – Neerja
Taapsee Pannu – Pink, Alia Bhatt – Udta Punjab

Best Comedian :
Varun Dhawan – Dishoom, Jimmy Sheirgill – Happy Bhag Jayegi, Rishi Kapoor – Kapoor & Sons

Best Music Direction :
Pritam – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil, Amaal Malik & Rochak Kohli – M.S.Dhoni: An Untold Story
Amit Trivedi – Udta Punjab

Best Lyrics :
Amitabh Bhattacharya- ‘Channa Mereya’ (Ae Dil Hai Mushkil) , Gulzar- ‘Aave Re Hitchki’ (Mirzya), Tanveer Ghazi- ‘Tu Chal’ (Pink)

Best Playback Singer (Male) :
Arijit Singh- ‘Channa Mereya’ (Ae Dil Hai Mushkil), Amit Mishra- ‘Bulleya’ (Ae Dil Hai Mushkil), Diljit Dosanjh– ‘Ikk Kudi’ (reprise) (Udta Punjab) , Armaan Malik- ‘Besabriyaan’ (MS. Dhoni: An Untold Story)

Best Playback Singer (Female) :
Kanika Kapoor- ‘Da Da Dasse’ (Udta Punjab), Neha Bhasin- ‘Jag Ghoomeya’ (Sultan)
Tulsi Kumar- ‘Soch Na Sake’ (Airlift)

Best Actor in Negative Role :
Neill Nitin Mukesh – Wazir, Shah Rukh Khan – Fan, Jim Sarbh – Neerja

Best Actor in Supporting Role (Male) : 
Rajat Kapoor – Kapoor & Sons, Rajkumar Rao – Aligarh, Rishi Kapoor – Kapoor & Sons
Anupam Kher – M.S.Dhoni: An Untold Story, Amitabh Bachchan – Wazir

Best Actor in Supporting Role (Female) :
Shabana Azmi – Neerja, Andrea Tariang – Pink, Ratna Pathak Shah – Kapoor & Sons
Disha Patani – M.S.Dhoni: An Untold Story, Richa Chadha – Sarbjit




Get the latest entertainment news straight in your inbox .